What is the Vegetarian Cheese List
This site provides information for vegetarians. Cheese can be made with or without rennet which is derived from the stomach tissue of a slaughtered calf. This list specifies those cheeses which are made without the use of rennet. Today more and more cheeses are made with “microbial enzymes” which are widely used in the industry because they are a consistent and inexpensive coagulant. The term “microbial enzyme” means it is a synthetically developed coagulant. The term “vegetable rennet” means it is derived from a vegetable source. Soft cheeses such as cream cheese and cottage cheese are manufactured without rennet. Some cottage cheeses, however, may contain gelatin which is derived from animal sources. All labels should be read carefully.
The information on this site is constantly updated as new information comes in. The entire list will be verified from all manufacturers every three years.
Latest Updates
FDA Approves Egg Free Flu Vaccine Flublok
  Excellent report on various organic dairies around the country
  Microbial Rennet and Fermentation Produced Chymosin(FPC): How Vegetarian are they? - From the VRG blog
  Magnesium Stearate, found in most medicinal tablets, could be (with a high probability) animal derived
Please check out the list of web pages related to vegetarianism on our Links page
What you can do on this site:
Brand List: A List of vegetarian cheeses by brand.
Type List: A List of vegetarian cheeses by type
Print Button: You can print either list by pressing the button at the top of each list.
Link List: These links will take you to sites filled with information on cheese, vegetarian diet, cooking, recipes, health etc.
Contact Us: You can send us an email with your comments, suggestions or questions.
Follow us on twitter: